Gratitude Brings Changes in Attitude – Part 1 of Top 5 Series

Other than forgiving others, gratitude is probably one of the most important elements we need to incorporate into our lives on a daily basis.  This is for a number of reasons.

#1:  Being grateful for what we have each day delineates  the things that are going well in our lives and shifts our focus from what we perceive is not going well to what is right in our lives.

#2:  Being grateful signifies to the Universe that while we are grateful for what we have; we will be even more grateful for what we still wish to receive. If we were to give someone a gift and they responded with how awful the gift was, it’s doubtful that we would continue to give this person gifts of any kind.  If we grumble or bring negative attention to what we do not like in our lives, it is often the case that we continue to receive more of whatever it is.

#3:  Our consciousness does not discriminate between good or bad; it simply hears what we say and responds in turn by creating more of what we focus on.  For example, if we focus on our debt and ruminate about it; we will surely create more of it in our lives.  Instead, when we begin to worry about the money we owe or our lack of money, we need to cease thinking about it and begin to focus on a solution to the issue or better yet, begin to think of the money, prosperity and abundance that we already have in our lives and all of our blessings.

Ten years ago, after reading, the Simple Abundance Journal Of Gratitude  by Sarah Ban Breathnach, I began to write a list of five to ten things that I am grateful for each day.  It was very difficult to feel badly about my life when I was focusing on all of the blessings that I had.  My father, from an early age also taught me that if I ever felt badly about any circumstance in my life that I should look down, not up as there are many people in this world that have much less than we do and who suffer terribly at the hands of others.  If we wake up each day without pain, without hunger, with our freedom and in a warm bed, we should be very grateful.  Anything else we have above that; we should be exceptionally grateful.

How do I feel grateful when things are not going well in my life?

This may not be easy at every given moment, but it is a conscious decision to spend time thinking or writing what we are grateful for. I believe that no matter what is going on in our lives, we are still able to finding something to be grateful for, even if it is small.  If you have lost your job, you can still be grateful that you have a loving family.  If you have an illness you can still be grateful that you are alive.  Even if you can only begin with being grateful for the meal you had last night, it’s a start.  And the Universe responds to the smallest of things.  Begin now to make a list of things you are grateful for in this very moment.  If you want to take it one step further, make a list of things you are excited about in the near future or in a year from now.  Sometimes our present does not seem very exciting, but we can always relay to the Universe that our future is about to get a lot more exciting!

Some simple gratitude affirmations are:

I am thankful for being me.

I am thankful for my loving pets.

I am thankful for the abundance I already have in my life.

I am thankful for the meal I had tonight.

I am grateful for the job I have.

One thing that is very important if we are attempting to manifest new or better things in our lives, in terms of love, friendships, places to live, a car, or just about anything we desire, we must never grumble or be negative about what we already have.

A sure way to make sure that the Universe never provides us with a new car is to grumble about the one we have or complain about the home we have now, if we are searching for a new place to live.  We must find the beauty in what we possess now and then begin to ask the Universe to provide the newer or better one.

Leave a Reply

