L.O.V.E. What is it, how do we find it and is it ALL we need? Part 2 of Top 10 Series

albert on energyAlbert Einstein

It is our beliefs, thoughts and experiences that make the answers to these questions regarding love very complicated.  Let’s simplify it:

1.  What is it?    It is a form of energy.

2.  How do we find it?  We don’t – we express it and we attract it.

3.  Is it ALL we need?  Yes.

By a dictionary definition Love is:  noun, verb (www.dictionary.com)

1.  a profoundly tender, passionate affection for another person.
2.  a feeling of warm personal attachment or deep affection, as for a parent, child, or friend.
Love, in fact, is not an emotion at all.
We definitely feel emotions surrounding it, but love itself is simply a form of energy vibration with its own frequency – that we are either capable of receiving from or sending out into – the world.
However, this capability of receiving or sending love depends upon our openness to it.  Think of love like a radio station with its own frequency of 101.5.  If we are tuned into 101.5 we are capable of receiving and responding to this frequency.  However, if we are tuned into 97.5 (the frustration station), we will not be able to receive or respond to 101.5.   Now this does not mean that the love station is not sending out frequencies – it simply means we are not tuned into it at the moment.
Which leads to the answer for question # 2:  How do we find it?  We do not find love.  We are love; we are able to connect to the love station at any given moment if we choose to.  Like gravity, which exists at every moment whether we are conscious of it or not, love’s frequency is constantly flowing towards us, through us and from us.  While gravity keeps us grounded and connected to the earth; love keeps us connected to all of humanity.
We walk around all day, every day rarely thinking about gravity; we just trust that it is there keeping us on this earth.  However, every once in awhile when we take off our shoes and plant our feet in the soft grass or the squishy sand, we do become aware of our connection to this earth.
Similarly, we walk around most days rarely thinking about love or that we are always connected to it.  Why?  Because our minds, with the constant external stimulation of our lives – traffic, people, getting where we are going, consuming, talking, paying bills – are not tuned into love’s station.  We usually wake up with our alarms tuned to that frustration station of 97.5 and never turn the channel all day long!
However, we can learn to change the station and tune into 101.5.  Surprisingly, it’s not much more difficult than raising our hand to turn the radio button or the remote control but we certainly make it more complicated.   We have to simply decide in to which frequency we are going to choose to be tuned.  It might even help today to consciously think about what radio station we are setting our alarms to…what type of station or music do we wake up to in the morning?  Is it soft and calming or is it the news with all of its graphic negative stories about what went wrong in the world yesterday or music that really doesn’t resonate with awakening?
I once counted how many times I actually changed the radio station in my car on my thirty minute route to work.  I changed it 21 times mostly because of the following reasons:  there was too much talking, too much advertising, too much negativity or simply because I didn’t like the music they were playing.  If I can take the energy and time to change my radio station 41 times in one half hour to tune into something that resonates with my spirit and makes me feel good, how much more difficult can it be to exert this same energy to change my thoughts and tune into love?
I have been consciously putting this into practice in the last month as I drive to work.  Every time I get upset at another driver, think about something someone said to me yesterday or any number of thoughts (these are our pre-programmed radio stations) that enter my mind that bring me down or cause me to feel anything less than love, I simply change my “mind” to another station.
One way is to simply counteract the thought with something positive, or to tune into a song that makes me feel better or reviewing what I have to be thankful for.  It is an amazing phenomenon that happens – I instantly begin to feel better.  Even if it’s not quite “love” that I begin to feel for my fellow drivers, at least I am more tuned into and able to respond with compassion and an honest awareness that sometimes I am not the best driver!
This is love. The action of changing our thoughts and with that being able to receive and allow more understanding or compassion to flow through us.  It does not mean that I have to love everyone.  It means that I have allowed myself to connect to the law of love (just like the law of gravity) which is always flowing through me by the way I am designed.
We are designed to love – that is why so many advertisers use puppies and babies to illicit our affection and therefore connect with their product.  When we are connected on that frequency we feel an affinity towards what we are seeing, hearing or perceiving.  Therefore, in answer to question # 2 – love is within us and flows through us at all times.  We do not need to look for it.
The irony of searching for love is that the less we look for it and the more we extend it to our fellow humans, the more we attract it.  If you are looking for a loving partner, the quickest way is to become a loving partner and remind yourself every day of who you are….perhaps change  your affirmation from “I am attracting a loving partner” to “I am a loving partner” or “I am love” and see what happens.
Question # 3:  Is love ALL all we need?  Well, of course we need food, water, shelter and warmth to survive but in essence these are the physical manifestations of love from a Universe/God that longs to provide everything we need.  If we send out love frequencies on a daily basis, we often find wonderful things in the physical world manifesting and being attracted to us.  It is much like when we smile – more times than not – it will elicit a smile from someone else.  The most wonderful thing about love is that it is contagious – and it is my hope that it will go ‘viral’ throughout this world and just as disease can spread and kill; love can spread and heal an entire society.
Decide in what form you want to be contagious in this world.  Do you want to spread  hatred, negativity and judgement or love, joy and compassion ?  Will you tune into frustration or will you tune into love?  Of course this will not happen over night, but we can begin to change little by little and so too will the world.
What I know is that when I am filled with love – even if it’s simply when I greet or get greeted at the door by my two little dogs – Francesca and Jack – that I feel good no matter what kind of day I’ve had.
I encourage you to make a list of the things that make you feel love or feel loved and make an attempt to not only simulate these experiences as much as possible for yourself, but for others and to make a conscious effort whenever a negative thought, judgement, worry or fear stomps through your mind, immediately rid yourself of it by changing your thought and frequency and tune into 101.5 – it is so much more fun than the alternative 97.5 Frustration Station…
Next Blog:  Practical exercises to raise our frequency from 97.5 to 101.5 and keep it programmed there!

One thought on “L.O.V.E. What is it, how do we find it and is it ALL we need? Part 2 of Top 10 Series

  1. Pingback: Pyramid of Love | heartflow2013

Leave a comment